Tuesday, September 23, 2008

You Have Got to Be Kidding Me!!!

My favorite part of the blogging is getting to hear what you all have to say about issues that we don't have time to cover in class. I know I am posting 2 tonight, but consider one of them Monday's post. Plus, once I read this...WOW!!

Discuss: PETA

End of American Empire

For all of my life, the USA has been the most powerful country in the world. But now that the economy stinks and the dollar is so weak, Iranian President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad says that the American empire is coming to an end.

Do you think that this is true, or can we recover from the years of political scandals (Monica Lewinsky anyone) and presidents who have been perceived by others as buffoons (GW Bush) to regain dominance in the world market?

Thursday, September 18, 2008

The Economy

I'm sure that many of you are aware of the hard times the economy has bestowed upon us. We no longer eat out on Fridays. We used to get take-out sushi. I also tend to now go grocery shopping once every other week to save money.

What are some things you and your family are doing to save money in these tough times? Which presidential candidate do you think will help get us out of this mess?

Tuesday, September 16, 2008

Obama Waffles

Ya gotta see this!

Obama Waffles: Offensive or funny? By the way: waffle has 2 meanings here: the breakfast food and Obama's "waffling" on the issues.

Thursday, September 11, 2008

September 11th

Today is a tough day for New Yorkers, it has become a touchstone for us. We all remember where we were and what we were doing when "it" happened. There has been a push to make September 11th a national holiday (like 4th of July, Labor Day) where most businesses and schools would be closed.

Do you think this will ever happen? Are there are any other things you would like to add to this post about how 9/11 affected your life?

Wednesday, September 10, 2008

O.M.G!!!

This is too crazy for words...read the article and then comment on what is the oddest thing: that he did it OR that he kept such meticulous notes on it:

Click here for CNN article

This is why I set my homepage to CNN, just so I can read articles like this!

Tuesday, September 9, 2008

A little off topic...

I have been staying late since school started to work in the program office. Unfortunately, this has left me very cranky and tired when I get home. The littlest thing makes me blow up at my family. It makes me very upset, and I hope that they understand what I am going through and this is temporary.

This is tonight's question: What is one characteristic you have (like my crankiness) that you wish you could change and why?

Monday, September 8, 2008

Troops out of Iraq

President Bush announced plans today withdraw 8,000 troops from Iraq before he leaves office in January. Do you think that he is saying this to push McCain ahead of Obama or will he follow through with these plans? DO any of you have family or friends in Iraq or Afghanistan?

Friday, September 5, 2008

Caylee Anthony...did her mother kill her?

First of all: Brian~ yes, you can post more often for extra credit. At some point I may let you come up with topics to earn some extra extra credit.

Danielle~ Thank you for the kind words about the homework. I especially liked your answers on the Sarah Palin post. Nice work.

Vaughn~ Impressive, you watched Sarah Palin's speech. WOW!

Okay...here's tonight's topic: Caylee Anthony was reported missing by her grandmother in mid-July after not seeing her for nearly a month. She also said that her daughter's (Caylee's mom) car smelled like "something died in it." Casey Anthony maintains her innocence, yet investigators have found evidence of a decomposing body in the trunk of Casey's car. But no body. Casey asserts that her daughter was kidnapped.

1. Why did no one report her missing for a month. She's 3, no one noticed??
2. Why does the car have evidence of rotting body.
3. Why is Caylee's grandmother (Casey's mom) now taking back what she said about the car smelling?
4. Where's the body?
5. Did the mother do it?

Google for more information if you need.

Thursday, September 4, 2008

Let's talk Sarah Palin again...

First of all, I have to say I am very impressed with the intelligence of your posts, especially Francis & Vaughn. I am glad you are enjoying your homework so much!

Let's forget about her daughter being pregnant, do you think Sarah Palin is qualified to be VP? Many people are calling her "inexperienced" but of the 2 presidential nominees and 2 vice pres nominees, she is the only one who has executive experience. She is the governor of Alaska, while the others are merely senators. She has raised a family and worked her way up in the world, in fact, she may be like some of your mothers. Do you think that running a state and running a family is good practice for being vice president?

Wednesday, September 3, 2008

Family Values and the President...

How do you feel about Sarah Palin (she is the vice presidential nominee for John McCain) and her daughter being pregnant? For those of you who may not know, Palin encourages teenagers to abstain from having sex, but obviously her daughter did not. Her daughter, who is 17 and in high school, will keep the baby and marry her boyfriend. Would this make you more likely or less likely to want Palin in the White House? Please explain your answer.

Monday, September 1, 2008

Blog #1

Today was your first day back at school. Were you happy to be back? What is one thing about yourself that you wish could be different this year? For example, I would like to have more creative ideas this year than I had last year. I am already working on a few great ones for next semester. What do you want?